When there is no other category, General is the way to go.
stimpoff
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 11:42 pm

Sigfox frequency hopping bandwidth

by stimpoff Sun Mar 20, 2016 11:58 pm

Hi, I have found out that TD1208 in default setting uses just small portion of sigfox spectrum. While other modules uses all frequncies aprox. 868.034 - 868.226MHz.
I checked this behavior on spectrum analyzer.
TD1208 based SigFox "keyApp" also hopping over all possible spectrum.

via command AT$IF? I found that standard firmware uses 200 slots with central f 868.130MHz while Sgf KeyApp 960 slots

via AT$IF=868130000,960,100 I can manage shift usage to lower part of band but obviously hopping mechanism newer go over slot 200. :oops:

I used in my code
TD_SIGFOX_FrequencyConf (868130000,960,0,100);

..but with same result...
so I need somehow tell sigfox library to hop over 960 instead 200 slots, but I didn't find anything in reference
I hope that reason is obvious I just wondering why it is set like that by default

cheers and thank you for help
User avatar
mstempin
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 9:24 am

Re: Sigfox frequency hopping bandwidth

by mstempin Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:35 am

The TD1208 is currently Sigfox-certified for a 48 kHz bandwidth in ETSI.

We just passed a new Sigfox P1 certification with a 192 kHz bandwidth capable firmware, and this new factory firmware will be made avaialble both as the default firmware in factory and available for download at the same time a new SDK will be released soon.
stimpoff
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 11:42 pm

Re: Sigfox frequency hopping bandwidth

by stimpoff Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:58 am

Thank you for quick ansfer.

Is there some interim solution for meanwhile? We are roliing up the network and I need device to test network.

Thank you
User avatar
mstempin
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 9:24 am

Re: Sigfox frequency hopping bandwidth

by mstempin Tue Mar 22, 2016 8:12 am

No, unfortunately, the current firmwares are limited to 48 kHz bandwidth.

However, this should not be a problem for testing the network: the 48 kHz bandwidth is not a limitation today given the number of devices today.

More interesting is to test the network coverage and device performance variations between manufacturers...
stimpoff
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 11:42 pm

Re: Sigfox frequency hopping bandwidth

by stimpoff Tue Jun 21, 2016 9:41 am

I have tested SDK 6.0.0 and I can confirm that full 192kHz is used :-) Is there some possibility to control which "subchanels will be used"? I would like to deny transmit on one particular part of band, where is very strong interferer so transmiting in that band area is useless.

thank you
User avatar
mstempin
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 9:24 am

Re: Sigfox frequency hopping bandwidth

by mstempin Tue Aug 09, 2016 9:04 am

No. The frequency band used is in the ISM license-free band that is supposed to be used fairly by all devices, respecting both maximum transmit powers and duty cycles (total transmission time / hour).

If some unknown device is not respecting these rules, you may track it and signal it to the authority in charge in your country so they are forced to stop it or get fined.
Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gamlettst, gracielajm60 and 3 guests